Experience Manu Wildlife with

Experience Manu Wildlife with

Amazon Trails Peru Manu & Trekking Tour Operator

Testimonials

Leave your comments

Your comments are invaluable to us and to those considering travelling with us. You can see what our passengers say about us below. If you would like to share your experiences or make any comments you can do so using this form:

  • Please copy the code on the left into the field on the right

23 June 2014

David Scheidegger (Schweiz)

We did the tour to Manu with Amazon Trails Peru
http://www.amazontrailsperu.com which organizes the tour itself. We
booked in advance and Ulla was very helpful with our questions. Before we
left Cuzco we had a meeting for instructions the day before
where we got to know our guide. Xavier was a great guide with huge
knowledge about the jungle and its animals and plants. He took care over
the whole trip and answered
all questions. He also reacted flexible to the planned tour in case of
weather changes and conditions. He speaks English very good. The cook on
the tour cooked healthy and delicious food. Also the boat men and the car
driver were friendly and
nice. In the jungle we saw almost all species of birds (Aras, Tucans,
Cock of the rock, Hoatzin, etc.) and animals. We only missed the Tapir and
the Jaguar.
Unfortunately we had to change short-term from the 7 to the 5 day tour but
Ulla was very flexible in organizing a new tour. Be aware that you have to pay 3/4 of the tour in cash. But they will
change the policy in future and will allow full prepayments. We recommend
Amazon Trails Peru very much! Thank you!

24 March 2013

elena bahnert (Deutschland)

The Manu Biosphere Reserve Adventure was fantastic. We had the pleasure of spending 8 days in Manu with amazon trails Peru. Our trip to Manu was absolutely perfect!! Our guide, Carlos was phenomenal! Carlos. Among other things, he sighted two very camouflaged jaguars - we watched them for almost an hour .we are seasoned travelers, having been to rainforests in Central America, Brazil, Australia and Mexico so we were hoping to learn more in-depth information about rainforest ecology than one might get on a first trip and the guide came though magnificently. Carlos’s commitment to both the environment and to the local indigenous groups closely parallels our own. We were excited to spend time with the Diamante and Matsiguenka people. Our stay at Casa Matsiguenka and maquisapayoc lodge was a real highlight of the trip for us. Visiting the boat "factory" in Boca Manu and watching the people use driftwood to create a viable; environmentally-friendly industry was fascinating.

3 November 2012

Klaus (Deutschland)

Cachora-Choquequirao-Llaqtapata-MachuPicchu, eine 9-Tagestour die zu meinen schoensten und erlebnisreichsten in Peru zaehlt. Ein zusaetzlicher Tag fuer Choquequirao machte die Besichtigung der archaeologischen Staette und vor allen den mit 24 Lamas geschmueckten Terrassenmauern zum unvergesslichen Erlebnis. Der Ort ist durch seine praesentative Lage schon einigemal zuvor auf der Tagestour gut sichtbar. Auffallend, dass einige Tage spaeter auch MachuPicchu bereits morgens von Llaqtapata, einem kleineren, hochgelegenen Ruinenort, sehr gut einzusehen war.
Einige Anstiege aber auch abwaerts zum Apurimac erforderten gute Kondition und unser umsichtiger Guide René hielt alle zusammen. Unser Koch Donado servierte uns die Menues.oft unter einfachsten Bedingungen reichhaltig, schmackhaft und mit Nachschlag. Das Touristenteam passte zusammen, Wanderfreunde mit gleichen Interessen fuer Inkakultur und Natur. Auch die Verstaendigung in deutscher Sprache war ausgezeichnet und ich konnte mich gluecklich schaetzen diese freundliche, hilfsbereite Familie aus den USA getroffen zu haben. Von Ulla alles perfekt organisiert, auch mit meinem Sonderwunsch erst drei Tage spaeter per Zug von Aguas Calientes nach Ollantaytambo weiterzureisen.
Kaum Touristen unterwegs, in Choquequirao waren wir die einzigen. Im Gegensatz zu MachuPicchu, wo alles streng reglementiert ist auf dem Inka-Trail sowie der Stadtbesichtigung und man nur mit Geduld noch ein stimmungsvolles Foto der ehrwuerdigen Ruinen ohne bunten Touristenstrom mit nach Hause bringt, macht diese Tour zum eindrucksvollen Erlebnis.
Herzlichen Dank auch fuer die schoene erholsame Zug- und Busreise nach Puno. Hatte alles reibungslos geklappt, auch mit dem Hotel in Puno, komfortabel mit Federbett und reichhaltigen Fruehstueck, selten in Peru.

11 July 2012

cristian (usa)

I had a great experience. I went on a jungle tour to Manu National Park for 6 days. The tour guide carlos was very professional and knew a lot about the jungle plants and animals. I went in June so there were quite a few of us on the tour about 7 and it seemed like everyone had a great time. They bring a cook with them on the tour and all the food was great and they also will accommodate you if you have food restrictions.

16 June 2012

Marion (Deutschland)

Ich bin die 4-Tages Tour nach Machu Picchu gelaufen. Diese vier Tage Inka Trail sind unvergesslich schoen, interessant und auch anstrengend.
Wir waren eine kleine Gruppe, das war dadurch richtig familiaer. Unsere guide Hoana hat uns hervorragend gefuehrt, viel gezeigt und erzaehlt. Besonders hat mir gefallen, dass sie uns viel über die Quechua und ihre Braeuche erzaehlt hat. Danke dafuer. Mutter Erde danke ich nun auch in Berlin.
In sehr anstrengenden Phasen haben wir uns gegenseitig unterstuetzt.
Es ist eine sehr faszinierende Natur und Kultur.
Das Essen ist unbeschreiblich lecker und für die Wanderverhaeltnisse (nur Zelte und Kochgegenstaende, die die Traeger mitgenommen haben) abwechslungsreich und vorzueglich. Auch wie es angerichtet war einfach nur bestaunendswert. Wegen des Essens wollte ich die Tour gleich nochmals starten. :-)
An dieser Stelle ein herzliches Danke schön an Ulla, dass sie diese Wanderung anbietet, an Hoana für die schoenen Stunden, an den Koch für das so leckere Essen und vorallem an die 5 Traeger, die mit einer faszinierenden Geschwindigkeit und Geschicklichkeit Zelte, Kuechenutensilien und Gepaeck getragen haben.
Ich empfehle diesen Trail allen, die Berge, Natur und "alte" Steine mögen.

8 May 2012

Eileen (USA)

This was an experience my brother and I will not soon forget! Our guide, Willy, was awesome - he was very knowledgeable and we would've never made it without him. The jungle is all about luck, we were told, and we had some moments were "luck" was an interesting choice, but our guide and drivers, even the chef, were always on the ball and never let us down. I am fully confident that with such an amazing staff, any trip would be safe and well worth it. Thank you all very much!

15 March 2012

MARIAN (AUSTRALIA)

Had a fantastic time on this trip,Carlos our guide know so much about everything and the food was amazing.My favourite part was when a troop of over so common squirrel monkeys passed by us .There were monkeys everywhere we looked .It is something .I will never forget .Definitely recommend this tour if you have few days in peru.

3 January 2012

Nicole y Jose (Schweiz)

Hallo zusammen
Wir haben am 12. Dezember die vier-tägige Manu-tour gebucht. Und es war toll. Wir haben die 4Tage total genossen. Ich danke Ulla, Luis danke du hast toll gekocht , ich danke an David der uns sicher an jeden Ort gebracht hat und am Wilfredo du warst unglaublich!! Mach weiter so !!! Wir hatten es so gut das wir dich am nächsten Tag anch der tour total vermissten.
Wünsch euch guten Neues Jahr 2012!

14 July 2011

Günter und Michaela (Austria)

Wir haben Ende Juli 2011 die 5 Tagestour nach Choquequirao gebucht. Die gesamte Organisation hat trotz einer kurzfristig notwendigen Ablaufänderung auf Grund eines massiven Erdrutsches hervorragend geklappt. Das Team war echt großartig - Jimi, unserem Führer ein absolutes Kompliment, er hat die Tour mit viel Lockerheit und großem Wissen begleitet (von den kleineren und größeren Tieren bis zur Farbgewinnung von Kakteen). Ein Highlight war auch Luis, unser Koch. Wir haben in keinem Restaurant Perus besser gegessen, als bei seinem, mit sehr bescheidenen Mitteln gezauberten Menüs! Und wir würden jedem empfehlen, nicht die 4 sondern die 5 Tagestour dort hinauf zu nehmen, der Extratag lohnt sich, das Areal ist einfach zu groß. Die Ausgrabungen können derzeit zugegebener Maßen mit Machu Picchu noch nicht mithalten, dafür sieht man keine Touristen. Die sanitären Anlagen in den Lagern sind zwar sehr bescheiden, eine "erfrischende" Dusche ist aber möglich - Badeschlapfen nicht vergessen! Die Tour ist recht anstrengend, man sollte einigermaßen fit sein, das ständig gegenwärtige Andenpanorama entschädigt jedoch mehrfach für jeden schweren Schritt. Wir würden diese Tour sofort noch einmal machen!

12 June 2011

Katia (Australia)

Before the start of the trip, I thought 8 days would be a bit long but actually it was too short!! We loved every minute of it. I will remember all my life seeing the family of 7 giant otters playing in the lake and the beautiful wild dear licking the clay. Transport, food and lodging were all very good. It was nice to go places where there was hardly anybody else than our group (often just our group). Our guides Wilfredo and Darwin were excellent. They pointed out to us so many things we would not have seen otherwise. And they are passionate about their stuff, you can tell. Because my eyesight is so bad, Darwin was giving me his binoculars all the time. They are also very knowledgeable and they love their stuff. The boatmen, the cook, everybody was very nice. We had the BEST time.

15 November 2010

Daniel Geissler (Germany)

Ich hab eine 7 tage tour mit amazon trails nach Manu gemacht und war vollauf begeistert.Ich kann das nur jedem weiterempfeheln der einen Trip in den Dschungel plant.Die organisation war PERFEKT!Unser Guide war grossartig,wusste ALLES,sprach super Englisch.Die lodges und das essen waren ebenfalls grossartig.Das wir ausserdem noch unglaublich viele Tiere(von verschiedensten Affen ueber Papageien bis zu insekten) gesehen haben tat sein uebriges.Aber auch mit weniger Tieren waere es einfach der Hammer gewesen.Also wer nach manu moechte sollte sichfuer Amazon Trails Peru entscheiden!

1 November 2010

Howie Garber (USA)

My travel companion and I had a wonderful time in Manu with Amazon Trails Peru. They were very patient and arranged a custom trip for us to suit our photographic needs. ATP allowed us to have a flexible itinerary. After spending time at Macaw Clay Lick, I wanted to spend another day there which they arranged. Our guide was an incredible naturalist who could hear and identify bird and monkey calls a long distance away. He went to great trouble to help me get great photos which can be seen at www.wanderlustimages.com
Everyone connected with ATP including boatman, cook, driver, and office personnel were helpful, professional and provided great service. I look forward to our next trip.
….Howie Garber/Amy Oxman

11 March 2010

Anneken Freihals-bouwer (Germany)

I just found your site.Long ago we went on a trip with you on the Madre de Dio. Our guide at that time was Abraham together with a German and Japane Girl. It was an amazing trip and I am glad this travelagency still exsists.
Greetings to everybody
Anneken Freihals-Bouwer

27 January 2010

Olivier & Veerle (Belgium)

We had a splendid time on the 2d/1n Huchuy Qosqo trail and on a 8 day trip to Manu (Biosphere Reserve) in Nov'09. Huchuy Qosqo-trail goes through empty wide open mountain landscapes and a fairytale canyon, and the ruins are beautiful as well. Ideal for a taste of trekking and for solitude lovers. The Manu team with birding guide Saturnino, cook Ciro, boatman Timo and Darwin was very helpful, knowledgeable and they're funny guys ! To be recommended ! Also the paper stuff went smoothly thanks to Ulla and her staff. Good price/quality, eg for keen birders looking for a cheaper alternative than the luxury tours but still visiting all necessary habitats.

7 January 2010

Christian Bourgin (Belgium)

Exactly a year ago I was preparing a trip to Peru, which took place in April 2009. The memory that I have of it is so fantastic that I still feel the need to speak about it. Not only Peru is one of the most attractive countries that I know, but I was lucky to be helped in my project by Amazon Trails Peru, which proved to be an extremely good agency and that I would recommend without any reserve. Their service was extremely nice, effective and reliable, and they gave me all the assistance that I wanted for the preparation and the realisation of the trip, which I did with my wife and my two children (aged 11 and 12). Thanks to them our trip went perfectly well. We visited the Inca trail and many other places in the Andes, as well as the Manu reserve, which was a wonderful adventure.

10 November 2009

solenne Dumont et Franck Mosnier (France)

Nous avons fais le circuit Manu Biosphere en 8jrs (13 sept 09 au 21), avec Abraham. La découverte de la forêt amazonienne avec une personne aussi compétente a été un vrai plaisir.
Sa connaissance exceptionnelle de la faune et de la flore nous a permis de profiter au maximum de cet environnement. Merci.

2 October 2009

Sara (Germany)

Wir haben waehrend der 4-Tagestour, die wir Ende September mit euch gemacht haben, sehr viel Spass gehabt und sehr viel interessantes gesehen. Dafuer moechten wir uns bei euch und insbesonderes bei unserem Guide Javier (ihr soltet seinen Eintrag in dem Link 'wir ueber uns' nachholen) herzlich bedanken. Danke das wir mit euch so tolle Erfahrungen machen konnten!

12 September 2009

Miki (Japan)

6-day trip to Manu with Amazon Trails Peru was one of the most fantastic experiences in my life. I am truly grateful to Saturnino, our guide, who never stopped showing us birds and animals in every single minute. Moreover, his short explanation of each plant, insect or animal we saw somehow made us understand the dynamics and wonder of rainforest ecosystem. I was just amazed that he knows every thing about the forest world! I enjoyed so much being a part of the wonderful nature. I cannot miss to mention about Ciro, the cook, who entertained us with such a tasty dish at every meal, regardless of at the lodge, on the boat, or in a remote hut. Thanks for giving me such an enjoyable time!

3 September 2009

Clara (Germany)

I have made in August 2009 the Manu Biospheres tour. This was the best tour which I have ever made.
We have seen birds, snakes, crocodiles, insects, vipers, cabybaras, monkeys..., as well as have got to know some botanical species. Our Guide Saturino has known a lot always very well and he found with his eagle eyes a lot of animals. Food of Cero very felt well.
Many thanks for this great time.
Clara

4 July 2009

Horst Harke (Germany)

'Hallo Jutta,Abram,
habe euch 2003 besucht, Macchu Pichu und Amazonastour - ihr erinnert euch??? Habe Lust zur Wiederholung ( geplant von mir als Gruppenreise ) Wie geht es euch, den Kindern?
Washat sich in Cusco, in eurem Unternehmen, getan - expandiert? '

Hallo Horst, danke fuer die Nachricht. Bitte schicke uns eine mail, damit wir Dir antworten koennen! Saludos,
Ulla

2 July 2009

Frank Kölzer (Germany)

I did the 8-day-trip to Manu and it was great. Everything was perfect but the weather. I really admired Ziro, the cook, how he did his real fantastic cooking under these circumstances. And the guide, Javier, found us all the birds and he did know everything about them. The macaw-lick was one of the best things I ever saw. Thank you for having a real good time.

Frank

17 June 2009

Irene & Thomas Rabanser (Italia)

Esattamente un anno fa il nostro viaggio di nozze ci ha portati in Perú dove abbiamo vissuto un'avventura bellissima insieme a Lorenzo, Modesto e Jorge affrontando lo splendido Lares Trek. Abbiamo superato passi altissimi (anche sotto qualche nevicata), attraversato villaggi dispersi, ammirato laghi tranquilli che ci hanno regalato uno spettacolo veramente unico e visto ghiacciai massicci; insomma, questo trekking ci ha regalato il contatto con una parte del Perú e con gli abitanti delle Ande che sono ancora in contatto con la natura incontaminata e con le tradizioni più antiche. Certamente tutto questo è stato reso possibile soprattutto attraverso Lorenzo, la nostra guida, che porta grande rispetto per le tradizioni e la sua terra riuscendo a trasmettere ciò attraverso i suoi racconti ed il contatto con popolazione Qechua. Il tragitto è stato particolarmente confortevole per merito di Modesto, il portatore, e Jorge, il cuoco.
Per chi ha esperienza in montagna questa è una gita veramente raccomandabile.
Un grazie particolare ad Ulla ed Amazon Trails!

Irene & Thomas

18 February 2009

Cheryl Mattson (United States)

Thank you so much for a wonderful trip. We really enjoyed our tour of Cusco. I highly recommend Amazon Trails Peru!!

30 July 2008

Aran Bates (Scotland)

Both my friend Kyle and I had the most relaxing and amazing time with you guys in the jungle. (Not really what people expect when they go to the jungle though, it has to be said. However, this made it all the more enjoyable, a proper holiday!) The guides Abraham and Rebay (excuse the spelling please) were fantastic guides with a huge amount of knowledge, patience and humour. The flexibility and organisation of the itinerary was, also, fantastic as it allowed me to see the tapiers even though I missed out on the first two attempts (the second failed attempt was my own fault as I am just difficult to wake up). I have only one complaint and that the food was too tasty and too much of it so I got fat!
No, no, there was not a single complaint to be had. All in all, the trip was just too spectacular for words and one needs to experience it to know it, so to speak.
Thanks!

16 July 2008

Alyssa & Dennis Rosemartin (USA)

We recently had an incredible trip with Abraham & Revelino. They are skilled birders and guides - we enjoyed great company & food. We saw nearly 200 birds in a few days - Eared Quetzal, Tiny Hawk, Black-faced Dacnis, Hoatzin and almost too many tanagers to count! If you are thinking of joining an ATP tour, don't hesitate, it will be a great, safe, educational, wonderful adventure.
Here are some pix from our trip:
http://picasaweb.google.com/AlyssaRosemartin/Manu

7 July 2008

Joy Pursel (USA)

We just returned from a month in Peru. While there we had the privilege of traveling into the Manu on an 8 day adventure. with ATP. It was AMAZING!! Abraham you are a book of knowledge and we learned so much from you. And your nephew Rebey (sp)..excuse my spelling was also so knowledgable and so very friendly. It was so sad when we had to say good-bye. I have already recommended your company to several
people and I will continue to have nothing but good things to say. We look forward to coming back to Peru and traveling with you again. Thank-you for the wonderful experience and all these memories I will cherish forever. Joy

18 May 2008

Christoph (Germany)

Wir haben den Trek nach Choquequirao gebucht und es wurde ein einmaliges Erlebnis. Im Gegensatz zum überlaufenen Inca-Trail wandert man hier fast alleine. Und die archäologische Stätte ist atemberaubend gelegen. Die angebotene Tour bietet die richtige Mischung aus Naturerlebnis und Kultur. Der Guide Lorenzo konnte allerlei Wissenswertes aus Flora und Fauna erzählen und uns immer wieder zum Weitergehen motivieren, wenn wir müde waren. Und unser Koch Jorge zauberte dreimal am Tag eine neue Überraschung auf den Tisch - Pancakes zum Frühstück war nur eins der Highlights. Empfehlenswert ist es, ein zusätzliches Pferd zum Tragen der eigenen Ausrüstung zu mieten, das erleichtert die Anstiege doch sehr.

Man kann die Tour von Amazon Trails Peru also nur weiterempfehlen; bevor auch diese überlaufen ist oder für Busse erschlossen wird.

24 March 2008

Klaus Weck (Deutschland)

Wenn meine Reise auch schon etwas zurückliegt (14.-21.Juli 2006) denke ich gern zurück und entdecke bei den vielen Fotos immer wieder neues und empfehle die Tour gern weiter.

Herzliche Grüße an Frau Ulla Maennig

20 November 2007

Alexey Mishustin (Russia)

We - me and my friend - have turned a week ago from a birding tour to Peru

organized by ATP (and personally Ulrike Maennig). We were driving a rented 4WD

car (rented not at ATP; if somebody is interested - budget.com) by

all the southern part of Peru during 30 days. The route - we had chosen it in

consultation with ATP. One of three ATP birding guides - Edgardo, Abraham,

Saturnino - kept our company during each of 30 days.



All the guides have shown a perfect knowledge of birds, mammals, plants, and also helped us few times at unforeseen consequence - for example, when I

didn\'t see a signal of traffic-controller in Puno city, or when,

two times deep in wild mountains, we couldn \'t find anyone speaking

Spanish or English (but Quechua only). Our guides understood and spoke Quechua.



Abraham and Saturnino were showing us birds in a telescope (which - a

backbreaking work - they were carrying with tripod), Edgardo - in a good

binocular. Edgardo helped us much filming on our video camera; Saturnino teached us the digiscoping - a way to make photos of birds on a digital camera through a telescope). And Abraham - I named him Eagle Eye =

Ojo de Aguila because he found birds always and everywhere, even where we both - not beginners at birds – just looked ))



Got to Atalaya, we left there our car (ATP arranged that somebody of the local

people was always keeping an eye on it) and put out for 7 days to

Alta-Madre-de-Dios, then Madre-de-Dios on a personal boat - for us two only -

rented at ATP. During this week we stayed in Blanquillo, Manu Wildlife Center,

Maquisapayoj (all lodging reserved also by ATP).



In Blanquillo we saw the Macaw Lick - an amazing place where lots and lots of

macaws and parakeets are gathering every morning. Two times we visited the Cocha Comungo lake (lots of birds) and the Cocha Blanco lake (lots of birds, many of them - different species from ones on Comungo). Also we visited a 42-meter viewing tower constructed near Cocha Comungo for viewing selva overstory.



In Manu Wildlife Center we walked to the Tapir Lick, where tapirs come every

night and where people hold a light for them with a searchlight operated from the battery. Also we visited a 40-meter viewing tower. There are two viewing towers in the area, and we visited both.



In Maquisapayoj we had not enough time to see all objects offered in this reserve. But then we found there a colibri nest just close to our bungalow. The birdie was entering the nest and sitting on the eggs in our presence.



Apropos, we found an entry in russian in the Maquisapayoj guestbook. It was a real surprise in so wild, far and incredible selva. The opinion was as enthusiastic as ours.



Shorter, people, it all has been great!! I recommend: who is going to go to Peru to watch birds - run to ATP! Their price is not nothing, sure, but who asks nothing for such service? Quality of the service of ATP has been checked.

A lot of thanks to Ulrike Maennig, guides Abraham, Edgardo, Saturnino!



[email protected]

11 September 2007

Kevin de Groote (France/ UK)

Je suis allé il y a un an avec Marlon et Patty mais je veux écrire quelque chose quand même car je vois personne n\'a encore écrit de Manu en français (je suis un anglais qui habitait en Guyane au fait).



Comme Marlon le dit, le guide était vraiment le meilleur que j\'ai jamais connu pendant mon voyage. Il connaissait tous les animaux, non seulement par nom, mais leur façon de vivre, ce qu\'ils mangent, vraiment tous (en plus je voyageais avec des environnementalistes qui connaît la forêt) ...



Sinon, Manu est exceptionnel et vaut un peu plus d\'argent. J\'ai vu plus d\'animaux dans 8 jours que pendant un an en Guyane, pas juste parce qu\'on les cherchait, mais car ils sont protégés et donc moins timides d\'hommes. Un aperçu d\'un jaguar ne sera jamais oublié...



Ulla d\'Amazon Trails Perú m\'a beaucoup aidé en avance aussi, pour nous permettre un voyage un peu adapté. Recommandé très fortement.



Thanks again. Big up to my 2 Canadian buddies Patty and Marlon, unforgettably hilarious!

28 June 2007

Aretha Danielsen (South Africa)

We have done the Machu Picchu hike via Choquequirao with Abraham as our guide in Jan 2005. This was definately one of the highlights of our 3 month trip through Southern South America. Abraham was a great guide with an amazing knowledge.

21 May 2007

Cynthia Danyluk (Canada)

I ‘ll write a comment about our Manu experience, as I know it is quite an expensive trip and people like recommendations from recent customers. My husband and I hummed and hawwed because the trip was quite expensive, regardless of which company you go with. After comparing different companies offices and reading customers reviews we decided to go with ATP because the guides received EXCELLENT ratings time and time again. They also were the only company to supply a telescope for viewing the wildlife as well as rubber boots (absolutely essential for when we went). They run different itineraries that also offer a tapir lick for nocturnal viewing, something no other company offered. Our guide was fantastic, I dont really know how he spotted the wildlife he did. For example, one other group was with us at the Macaw lick and they were only looking at macaws. Our guide found 2 toucans, a monkey, a squirrel and a woodpecker in that time, absolutely unreal! And he knows all the names of EVERYTHING, latin names, biological genus, species, family....quite amazing really. They really work hard the whole trip to give you the best experience. They also rent out SPECTACULAR binoculars, not the crap ones other companies try to rent out.

Cynthia

21 January 2007

Gudrun Bardowicks (Germany)

Ich und mein Freund Hans Mittendorf waren vom 4.9. - 1.10.2006 mit Amazonastrails Peru auf naturkundlicher Individualreise in Peru. Unsere Reiseziele waren u.a. die Küste auf der Paracas-Halbinsel (viele Chile-Pelikane, Graumöwen und Schwarzschwanz-Möwen) mit Bootstour zu den Ballestas Inseln (Guano-Inseln mit Millionen von Seevögeln, vor allem Guano-Tölpel, Guano-Kormoran, Inkaseeschwalbe, Humboldt-Pinguin und Südamerikanischer Seelöwe), über die Anden nach Cusco (mit Besichtigung der alten InkastättenMachu Picchu, Pisac und Ollantaytambo), Randbereiche des Manu-Nationalpark im Amazonasgebiet entlang des Rio Alto Madre de Dios und Rio Madre de Dios (Bootstour mit Übernachtungen in teilweise einfacheren Unterkünften, teilweise auch auf Beobachtungsplattformen für die Tapirbeobachtung; Beobachtungen u.a. an Altarmen und an einer großen Papageinenlecke) und der Colca-Canyon südlich von Arequipa (mit geländegängigem Mietwagen).Als äußerst fachkundigen und ornithologisch und naturkundlich versierten Guide hatten wir während der ersten 3 Wochen Abraham Huaman Leon, der gleichzeitig unser Dolmetscher war. Die gesamte Reise war hervorragend organisiert (Verpflegung, Unterkünfte, Transfers mit Kleinbus bzw. Boot, Inlandflüge, deutschsprachiger Guide für den Ausflug ins Heilige Tal der Inka, einheimischer Guide in Machu Picchu). Zeitweise wurden wir von einem Koch begleitet, der schmackhafte Speisen zubereitete.

Hauptschwerpunkt unserer Reise waren die Säugetiere und Vögel des Amazonasgebiets und der Anden. Unser Guide Abraham hatte hervorragende zoologische Kenntnisse im Felde, sowohl akustisch als auch visuell, und konnte uns viele seltene Tierarten wie z.B. Riesenotter, Flußotter, Capybaras, Flachlandtapire, 10 Affenarten (von 13 im Gebiet vorkommenden), Vicunas, Guanakos, Mohrenkaiman, Anden-Felsenhahn, Anden-Kondor, 6 Araarten und viele kleinere Papageien und viele Kolibriarten zeigen. Insgesamt sahen oder hörten wir durch Abrahams Hilfe während der Reise etwa 560 Vogelarten, darunter viele endemische Arten.

Auch die anschließende Tour von Arequipa aus in den Colca-Canyon und nach Lagunas Salinas, die wir ohne Guide unternahmen, war sehr gut organisiert (geländegängiger Mietwagen, Hotel in Arequipa).

Wir denken gerne an diese schöne Reise zurück und können sie allen Naturfreunden, die den mittleren und südlichen Teil Perus kennenlernen wollen, sehr empfehlen.

Gudrun Bardowicks/ Lüneburg und Hans Mittendorf/Springe

20 October 2006

Pascal, France ()

Le trek qui passe devant le Salkantay et va jusqu \'à Aguas Calientes est super ! Passer le col à 4600 m est un vrai moment \'émotion et la vallée qui redescend est magnifique. Berna a su aussi nous faire partager sa passion de la montagne jusque dans la visite finale du Machu Picchu. Ces quatre jours ont été un grand moment dont on se souviendra comme l \'un des meilleurs de notre visite

au Pérou.

15 June 2006

Linda & Marvin Thurber, USA ()

We spent April 8 to May 8 in Peru and Bolivia and by far the best 4 days was

spent in Manu viewing animals with Abraham. It was expensive for our budget

but the first rainforest trip that we actually saw a lot of special birds and animals (tapir, giant otters, monkeys, wild pigs, macaws, toucans, etc)!

9 June 2006

Marlon Bessie ()

Six days in Manu with the best guide we've had in 5 months of travel. Astounding place and things to see - a wildlife trip the equal of our week in the Galapagos. See Patty Hogg's comments: she speaks for me as well.

7 June 2006

Patty and Marlon, NWT, Canada ()

If you are looking for an authentic jungle adventure full of exquisite wildlife and breathtaking landscape take a trek with Abraham into the Manu National Park.

It was one of the most thrilling trips I´ve experienced and Abraham was by far the best guide I´ve ever had.

Do yourself a favour and book a trip with ATP today!!

Thanks to all for such a memorable experience.

30 May 2006

Jurgen Tacq, Netherlands ()

Me and my girlfriend did the 8-day tour into Manu Blanquillo with Andrès as a guide. It turned out to be one of the best experiences I had so far. With an enthousiastic guide, 3 times a day good food, beautiful nature, friendly people and nice lodges. You really experience the jungle life in all its aspects and learn about complex relationships which exist in the jungle´s ecosystem.

The trip towards the jungle was amazing as well.

So to anyone who might be interested: doubt no longer and just plunge yourself into the jungle of Manu with Amazon Trails Peru!

18 May 2006

Petra und Detlef ()

Hallo Ulla,

wir möchten uns auf diesem Wege für die unvergeßlichen tollen 3 Wochen bedanken, die Du mit viel Geduld und Mühe unter Berücksichtigung unser vielen Fragen per email super toll zusammengestellt hast und alles super geklappt hat. Besonders erwähnenswert ist der Ausflug in den Manu. Abraham und Sato sind absolute Spezialisten auf dem Gebiet der Natur- und Tierwelt. Vorallem die optische Ausrüstung und sonstiges Zubehör hat uns ermöglicht, die Natur und Tiere näher kennenzulernen. Wir können Amazontrailperu jedem empfehlen, der individuell und günstig Peru kennenlernen möchte.

Grüße aus Deutschland von Detlef und Petra

24 April 2006

MOMO ()

I joined 4-days Salkantay trekking 2 weeks ago from Japan. It was really fantastic and I was bewitched completely! The trekking course was a little bit hard but I could see various beautiful things, for example Double rainbow & lots

of fireflies!! My guide, Ms. Berna & Porfi, and Cook, Mr. Erasmo, and all of other staff were perfect! I really thank Amazon Trails. I will be back to Cuzco in near future.

21 March 2006

Eric Bühler ()

Unsere 8-tägige Erlebnisfahrt mit amazonastrailsperu in die Wildnis-Umgebung des Manu Nationalparks hat sich vollauf gelohnt.

Schon in der Einführung und erst recht unterwegs konnten wir der Kompetenz der Anbieter ohne Vorbehalte vertrauen und uns in der reichen Naturwelt all den spannenden Beobachtungsmöglichkeiten ganz hingeben. Die diskret unserem Bedürfnis angepasste Wissensvermittlung des Führers war beeindruckend, das an den unmöglichsten Orten hervorgezauberte Essen begeisternd und all das Gesehene und Erlebte unvergesslich.

Dass uns dann auf dem Rückweg doch noch -nach recht erfolgreicher Abwehr der Moskitos- einige Insekten (Flöhe?) an den unmöglichsten Stellen erwischt haben, bleibt uns ebenso in (beissender) Erinnerung!

Eric und Pat aus der Schweiz

4 February 2006

Steven ()

We had a great time on the Manu Blanquillo tour in october 05. Good pre-departure information and organization!

Our guide, Andres had a great ability to spot animals and huge knowledge on the rainforest. I can recommend the 8 day tour, it´s worth it !! Thank you, Steven and Janet

29 August 2005

Apurva and Seema A. Modi ()

We had a wonderful experience in Peru especially the Manu trip organised by Ulrike. The difference between this group and ohter tour companies that organize Manu trip is that we acutally got to stay with the Matsiguenkan people who are an Amazon tribe. We got to learn and see their various customs and traditions and in fact even use a real bow and arrow which they use for hunting.Our guide Samuel was extremely knowledgeable and the best guide we have ever had (we travel quite a lot around the world). The food provided by Sylvia (cook)was superb abd the people in general were very nice. I would highly recommend going to Manu with Amazon trails peru.

12 July 2005

käfer werner, 8054 graz, harterstrase 171, österre ()

vom 14.6. - 17.5.05 absolvierte ich mit einem freund den inkatrail. wir buchten bei amazontrailsperu, wobei uns ulrike maennig (spricht deutsch) welch ein segen, großartig unterstützte. sie besorgte nicht nur die buchung für den inkatrail sondern kaufte uns auch noch bahntickets von cusco nach puno, beantwortete mir ca 30 e-mails anfragen und unterstützte uns wo es nur ging.

der trail war hervorragend orangisiert, das essen ausgezeichnet, ich durfte wegen meiner bauchspeicheldrüsenentzündung kein fett essen, auch darauf wurde voll eingangen, der guide sprach sehr gutes englich und erfüllte alle unsere wünsche. die träger waren großartig und äußest freundlich. der ganze trail war für uns zwei ein großartiges erlebnis, dass wir sicherlich nicht mehr vergessen werden.

auch das preis - leistungsverhältnis ist hervorragend.

wer den inkatrail machen möche, dem kann ich nur amazontrailsperu empfehlen.

wichtig ist frühzeitig zu buchen. wir haben bereits im jänner 05 gebucht.

4 July 2005

Ross Murphy ()

Great experience with these guys, I highly recomend them for both the Manu and Machu Picchu trips

26 November 2004

Herbert Ruppelt, Sandra Pohl, Adrian Kostrz ()

Im August 2004 machten wir drei eine von Frau Maenning, von Amazon Trails, perfekt oranisieret Rundreise durch Peru.die überdies auch noch günsig war. Alles klappte wie am Schnürchen. Allein der Manu-Nationalpark mit seinen tropishchen Pflanzen und seiner ungeheuren Tiervielfalt ist ein unbeschreibliches Erlebnis. Abraham, unser Guide, erwies sich als höchst kompetenter Fachmann in Sachen Tierwelt. Alles in allem eine tolle REise, die man jedem empfehlen kann.

Tschau Herbert, Sandra und Adrian

14 September 2004

Osvaldo and Audrey Ciancio ()

We did the 6-day trek to Machu Picchu via Choquequirao and found it well-organized, extremely interesting, challenging, and great fun. Exploring Choquequirao and then Machu Picchu was marvelous, and finding smaller ruins hidden in the jungle along the way made it even more of an adventure. The jungle and mountain scenery was breathtakingly beautiful. We are truly grateful for the expertise of Amazon Trails and Abraham Huaman Leon. Their guidance and organization were excellent throughout. The equipment provided was high quality, our stuff was carried for us, the camps were set up in ideal sites, and the most delicious meals were cooked for us, all in a smooth, flawless manner. In addition, the knowledge of Mr. Huaman Leon about local flora and fauna, particularly birds, greatly enhanced this perfect trip. We recommend it to all lovers of nature, archaeology and rugged landscapes.

23 August 2004

stefan siehl ()

soy estudiante de geografía y hice un tour con ATP en el manu y estaba estupendo. el manu tiene tan muchos animales y plantas grandiosas y con el gíua lo mejor, se llama Abraham (muchas gracias por tu ayuda y conocimiento impresionante), estaba una aventura entre el corazón de la naturaleza. también el servicio de este tour estaba excelente - gracias al cocinero, se llama Lino. espero que esta parte de nuestro mundo siempre vaya a conservar muy bien, lo que nuestros niños también pueden disfrutar el manu - como es ahora...

muchos saludos

stefan

19 June 2004

Anoek Maes ()

We went on the trekking 5 days/4 nights along Salcantay and ending in Aquas Calientes for going to Machu Picchu. It was a great trekking! The first day was pretty tough with the high altitude, and sleeping at 4600m was an experience as well: cold! But it was really beautiful there, just as the other days. We walked through bush, along the river, passed small communities. The last day: visiting Machu Picchu was also a really good experinece! Our guide was really nice and good, the cook made excellent food, and the rest of the group great! We can really recommend this trip!

19 October 2003

Silke Schwedes ()

I spent a fantastic week in the Manu with Jimmy as tour guide at beginning of October 2003. The service incl. camps, meals and guide was excellent. We saw a lot of animals and learnt a lot about them and their habitats. All questions could be answered. People who love nature will have a great time! Go for it!

7 September 2003

Horst Harke ()

War im August 1 Woche mit Abraham unterwegs; der kennt dort jeden,weiß buchstäblich alles über Fauna und Flora der Selva, bei meinen (6)Urwaldtrips der beste Guide, ein absolut seriöses Unternehmen; bei euch kann man auch verlässliche Gesamtpakete für
Perureisen schnüren...
Bis bald : Horst

22 July 2003

Thomas Schoepke ()

We had a great time at Manu with Abrahám. I'm sure that he found each bird living at Manu river. With the exception of one camp site we did not like it could not be better.
Interested to see some images of our tour? Go to www.plant-pictures.com and follow link to travel pictures.
Ines and Thomas

26 May 2003

Amazon Trails Peru ()

Our Guestbook is now functioning. Your comments will appear here. / Unser Gästebuch ist jetzt geöffnet. Ihre Kommentare werden hier erscheinen. / Nuestro libro de visitantes ya esta funcionando. Sus comentarios apareceran aqui.